DUI Child Endangerment in Georgia
When a motorist is charged with driving under the influence and one or more children under the age of fourteen were in the car, he or she will also be accused of DUI and child endangerment.
Multiple Counts of Child Endangerment
The police can and will file a separate and additional charge for every child in the car. For example, if you receive a DUI with 2 children in the car, you can be charged with a DUI and 2 counts of child endangerment.
Penalty in Georgia for DUI Child Endangerment
- Conviction on a first offense carries up to twelve months in jail and a fine of not more than $1000.00. NOTE: Even on a first DUI conviction many judges will require extra jail time if a person is also convicted of child endangerment.
- A person convicted of a second offense lifetime can be sentenced to serve as much as twelve months in jail and pay a fine between $1000.00 to $5000.00.
- A third offense is a felony and carries the most severe consequences. Penalties include a possible sentence of up to five years in prison and a minimum fine of $10,000.00. Child endangerment does not - cannot - merge with the underlying DUI and will be counted as a separate offense for license suspension purposes, even when a DUI charge and child endangerment charge arise from the same arrest. For example, when an individual is charged with driving under the influence and two counts of child endangerment and the charges were all made on account of one traffic stop, that person will be declared a habitual violator based on one driving event if convicted of all three offenses. When you become a habitual violator, your license is revoked for five years, and then you will face the challenge of license reinstatement.